Family of God: Are you my neighbor?

If you’ve ever had any communal type of living, I’m sure you can empathize with the woes of having to share your space with others.

Its difficult deciding the rules, sharing them and reinforcing them when you are dealing with people who are your peers and not just your own children. Most if not all communal living rules should be spelled out and never left unspoken.

Unwritten rules are bound to be broken

Because really…how can someone know an offense exists if the rule doesn’t. I’m most certain these are the headaches law makers experience knowing that some rules even have to be made. Foolish decisions and lack of respect cause some of the craziest laws and rules to have to be made. But when they are, and are violated, then what?

I can’t exactly call the police for misuse of my washer/dryer and I’m sure my Landlord doesn’t care if its not a money or maintenance problem.

So it leaves me to have to decide the best way to communicate. I posted courtesies, that I felt were common and could be easily respected but no consequence when not. Everything in me wants to knock on the door (like the police), share how I feel (very harshly) and make threats!

If you ever use my washer and dryer again, imma _________________________…..

But again, really? They’ll just wait until I’m not home and continue abusing my generosity. That’s what sucks about having to really consider how you treat people. Its only worth it being adamant about what you can control. Treat people how you want to be treated, right?

Luke 6:31 (Do to others as you would have them do to you. NIV) and Leviticus 19:18 (Do not seek revenge or bear a grudge against one of your people, but love your neighbor as yourself. I am the LORD. NIV)

Hard lessons.

How do you deal with your neighbors when they have offended or wrong you? Do you proceed with love in silence or tell the truth in love?

Posted from the Heart ❤

Leave your feedback below :)